Bloggies?

Posted on

It is the end of the quarter, finals loom in the shadow world of next week, and for my class is voting on certain blogs of our classmates for certain areas/qualities.  It’s a bit like the Grammys (I’m assuming this is why my professor who also wrote a blog during this class named it the Bloggies).  There are six categories one can win in: Best Personal Blog, Best  Design/Visuals, Best Hobby/Specific Interest Blog, Most Improved Blog, Most Interactive Blog, and Blog “Most Likely to Succeed”.

These are my votes for each category and my reasoning behind each vote.  See if you agree with me.

For Best Personal Blog I’ve voted for When I Grow Up by my classmate Chelsea.  It’s stories of what she wanted to be as a child when she finally grew up.  We’re all technically adults in this class, and thus, I suppose, she has grown up.  It’s an extremely funny blog with many hand drawn illustrations (which I love, though they are not as present in her later posts).  It’s fun to read personal stories of her life in her blog, stories which it would take years to get out of her in person, I think.

The blog I voted for Best Design/Visuals was My Cat Thinks I’m Funny by Natalie.  Now, I know I’ve posted about her blog before in other class posts, but she just so happens to hold the title of favorite blog, so don’t judge me for redundant behavior.  Not only is her blog hilarious but the grey and black and white of her blog contrasts nicely with the neon purple titles, and is incredibly easy to read.  I absolutely adore it!

I voted for Hyperderby by Kristina for Best Hobby/Specific Interest Blog because it’s about a specific hobby of her’s (obviously) which she is very passionate about.  Her design and writing is nice and readable which just makes it that much better.  But besides the obvious reasons, I can hear her voice and her passion about roller derby with each word.

When I think Most Improved, I can’t help but want to vote for every blogger in my class.  We’ve all come so far in this class that I find this category the most difficult to decide and defend.  I’ve voted for Ursus Interruptus by my classmate Kyle, because, though I think his posts have been nothing if not random throughout the quarter, I think he’s done a good job at really narrowing his world down and defining everything he discusses and jokes about within his blog.  It was vague (if not slightly confusing) in the beginning, but I think he’s really pinned everything down and welcomed us into his blog with big bear arms!

Most Interactive was hard, too.  I’ve voted for Why Write? by my good friend Tom, because he really listened to what his readers said in their comments and posted things about questions and (ahem) comments they brought up.  What else could be said if not interactivity with a blog entitled with a question?

For “Most Likely to Succeed” I have voted for My Cat Thinks I’m Funny again, just because it is my favorite, for obvious reasons, and I think it speaks to the vast majority of college students and can only be described as hilarious.  I cannot help but laugh out loud (LOL, or Lawl) every time I read a new post.  Humor is one thing that will keep a blog going, just as long as she keeps her end of the deal up and keeps posting.

About EEL

I'm currently a senior in University and done this Spring. I am a Creative Writing major, and to read and write poetry, fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and anything along those lines.

Leave a comment