Mistletoe and Holly

Posted on

Green and red make the holidays

That’s what they say.

But for me it’s a little different.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like the gifts, sure, but there’s something about the music,

The snow,

The air,

That make everyone want to get together,

Be with their family.

It was Christmas, once.

One time.

For me.

I was seven.

My whole family was around me,

Even Grammy who would die the next summer.

My mom bought my sister and I little baby perfumes–

The kind you spray on your dolls,

Except I didn’t like dolls.

Still don’t.

My sister and I got the same exact package–

Six little bottles with pastel color caps marking which was

which scent.

I remember the rose and lavender colors were my favorite.

They smelled like babies.

Those were my first makeup.

Most wouldn’t consider perfume as makeup–

It’s part of hygiene–you smell good, you have good hygiene.

But to me, these perfumes were the gateway drug of makeup.

I began collecting scents.

First the little plastic Calgene bottles at Rite Aid,

Then Bath and Body works.

Then real perfume.  I would ask for it for christmas.

I have more scents than anyone I know.

And more makeup than anyone I know, except professionals.

Except I don’t know any professionals,

So the statement stands.

My sister stuck with Bath and Body Works.

I’m a little bit more sophisticated,

So I’ve moved on to bigger and better (more expensive) things.

About EEL

I'm currently a senior in University and done this Spring. I am a Creative Writing major, and to read and write poetry, fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and anything along those lines.

3 responses »

  1. I love this! I really love the line about it being the gateway drug to makeup. It’s cool to see how you go from your makeup to Christmas to a specific event, to scents. This is a great follow up to your origin story.

    Reply
  2. Yes, the “gateway drug.” I’d love to hear more about the perfumes, what they made you feel like. This feels like it could be the start to a prose/poem essay on beauty and how perfume is a part of that.

    Reply
  3. I really like these story/poems.
    If only it were scratch and sniff…

    Reply

Leave a comment